Lost

because sometimes I sit and try to open the floodgates of my mind

but the latch won’t work or the rock is in the way.

And that moment, that precious moment

is forever gone and lost to me.

Like a password I’ve forgotten

Just a word, never written.

It’s a dim light that’s been extinguished and

I’m a dreamer, but awakened.

It is lost to me.

Now all I see are the chances I’ll never take and

the choices I’d long to make.

The people and the voices are still crowding my mind.

Overcrowding and screaming and pushing to get out.

But they’re locked in, no key, no out.

Because I lost it long ago –

my quill, my art.

Quill

Leave a Reply

